ICAN Scottish Partner

Latest Events

Donate to SCND

Amount to donate:
£  GBP  


Holyrood debates Trident spending

The Scottish Parliament will debate the additional £500 million expenditure on nuclear submarines which George Osborne announced during his visit to Faslane. The debate will be led by SNP MSP Christina McKelvie. Two senior Labour MSPs, Neil Findlay and Malcolm Chisholm, are backing the motion. It will be discussed from 1230 on Thursday 8 October and will be shown on Parliament TV

If you wish to contact your MSPs, you can send them an email through writetothem.com


Below are details of the motion:

Motion S4M-14089: Christina McKelvie, Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse, Scottish National Party, Date Lodged: 31/08/2015
Extra Spending on Home of Nuclear Submarines 

That the Parliament notes with concern the announcement by the Chancellor of the Exchequer that £500 million will be spent on ensuring the continuation of HM Naval Base Clyde at Faslane as a nuclear submarine base for the next generation of Trident nuclear weapons; understands that this announcement comes before the UK Parliament has made a decision on this next generation of nuclear weapons; considers that money such as this would be far better spent on supporting many in society including people who are sick or disabled, young people and pensioners in constituencies such as Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse, where those in vulnerable positions have been so negatively affected by welfare reforms that have been continued by the current UK Government and the previous UK coalition administration; believes that this continued move toward a next generation of nuclear weapons is at odds with the beliefs of the majority of the Scottish population and elected members, and hopes that sense can be seen that will result in investment in people instead of these weapons of mass destruction.

Supported by: Gordon MacDonald, Adam Ingram, Joan McAlpine, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, John Mason, Rob Gibson, Stuart McMillan, Kevin Stewart, Sandra White, Nigel Don, Neil Findlay, Mike MacKenzie, Dennis Robertson, James Dornan, Patrick Harvie, Colin Beattie, Richard Lyle, David Torrance, Chic Brodie, John Finnie, Gil Paterson, Jean Urquhart, Dave Thompson, Malcolm Chisholm, Michael Russell, George Adam, Elaine Smith

Add comment

Security code